Ephesians 4:25 “Therefore, having  put away falsehood, let each one of you speak the truth with his neighbor, for  we are members one of another.”

These days, I do not have a lot of time to think. I rise before the others, so I can seek Him, so I can marinate in His word, hear what He has to tell me so that I can be a quasi-productive, wife, teacher, and mother. However, the last few evenings after all have fallen to sleep, I have started to wonder about reality verses perception and where I stand in it.

Facebook, or as my friend calls it faux book often is graced with: “Jr went poo poo on the potty.” “My boyfriend of 13 hours and 22 minutes broke up with me, we were MFEO” (made for each other).  “Please give $1 for a darling little guy.” “I have the greatest kids EVER.” “I managed to make 12 loaves of bread from scratch, cleaned the entire house, polished the silver, then shuffled the children from here and there, while teaching them latin in the car.”

You hardly ever hear: “Oh sure, I lead your Bible study, but in my heart I seek to cause more divisiveness within my family.”  “My husband is no longer on staff as a student minister.” “Sometimes my heart just aches and I wonder why I live.”

Think about it, which gets more “likes.” We all want people to like us, right?

Recently, my friend over at Recovering Noah (still need to blog about our park day) put this as her status:

If you were a fly on our wall then this is what you would’ve heard at our house today…”Why can’t you be like all the other moms? Why can’t you be a fun mom? Like all those moms on Facebook!!” Ah, don’t you know he got a good lecture on reality verse perception.

Don’t get me wrong, I love facebook. It has been a great tool to reconnect with people, but even I abuse facebook at times, and share what the rest of the world probably doesn’t care about.

I am not banning it, I promise…I am just curious as to why everyone, including myself say that we seek real, honest, genuine community with others, yet we continue to be prideful and elevate ourselves to something in someone elses mind that we really aren’t.  1 John 1:8 “If we say we have no  sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.”

I don’t believe all of our business should be aired out, trust me, I don’t.  I am however, curious of where the line between real and faux is…..if we are constantly telling the world everything is grand, our life is grand, our marriage is grand, our children are grand, our adoption is grand, our fostering is grand, our whatever is grand, how are we able to sharpen ourselves on others? Are we truly seeking real community? Are we seeking truth and growth? Or are we allowing our pride stand in the way? Proverbs 16:18 “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.”

Do we truly seek real, honest, raw relationships or do we want surface facade relationships? I once heard a wise man say “Don’t tell me you have 510 friends. If you needed something all 510 friends would not be there for you.” So if these people are not really our friends….why play charades?

Something to ponder….after I check to see what everyone else is doing, and to see if Jr has been diaper free for 11 days! 🙂

