We still have our temporary little guy, whom for blogging purposes we will call Reef.

Reef, is a challenge. All out wars ensue everyday. He was in foster care a mere 56 hours before we got him. 56 hours. BLESS HIM.

If I had $1 for every time he said no in one day, I would have $6,739. If I had $1 for every time he punched me in one day, I would have $183. If I had $1 for every time he slapped me in one day, I would have $4,445.

No joke. He’s 2, so part of our behavioral issues stem from age, and obviously the bigger portion, stems from the crap he has endured in two years. Regardless, we are in this for the long haul. I am practicing every Karyn Purvis manuever I can on him. I pray, God’s grace is always more than what I need. I sing a lot. I wont lie. “Jesus paid it all” is one I sing quite a bit…usually the part that says ” all to Him I owe” during the moments of being swung out, stomped at, at screamed at, I remind myself HE called us to this and we owe it to Him to obey!

Come Though Fount is another goodie I like to sing as well.

We are making headway in some areas…it is very clear this little guy is not a fan of women for a variety of reasons, and he has quickly figured out I am his caretaker, therefore he should be extra ______ (whatever) towards me. Sunday, at church, he gave them a bit of grief, but overall was great. As soon as I picked him up, he exploded on me. I stood in the church gym with a child lashing out every which way, and I pulled out every bag of tricks I could with no luck. My husband walked over and Reef stood up, and walked away happy.

I don’t take it personally…I know too many people who have fostered and adopted. I consider it a blessing, because  I am emotionally and physically and whatever exhausted, but I know without a doubt there is a spiritual war being raged, and I refuse to give in and allow the enemy to have a victory! REFUSE

We are not sure how long he will be with us, but we are praying fervently that the Lord would allow us to do the hard work with this little guy before he goes to a new home, or at the very least to a family member.

During this season we are going thru, I am reminded of how much Christ loves me. How often do I cry out, yell and thrash myself? Yet, he continues to lift my chin and remind me, I have value and I am loved.

(sorry for the rambliness 🙂

