Yesterday, we were asked to take a 2 year old little boy temporarily.

At 9:24 at night, my husband scooped up a precious boy who was sound asleep, placed him in our suburban and we headed home. We made one stop at a store to buy ethnic hair products. Bless the teenagers heart who was assaulted by my questions. He was a great sport, who talked me thru it all, and off the ledge.

As the garage door shut, he lost it. My husband was holding him, and he tried to climb even higher up my husband. It was awful. Thus began the next several hours of refining. He hated me. I would look at him and he would start screaming. He only wanted my husband, period. I am blessed with a husband who pushed me out of the way and took over without batting an eye.

With the deer in the headlights look, I read a text message from a friend “Get yourself filled WAY up with God’s love so it’s pouring out.” Never have truer words been spoken!

By 12:30 all were asleep in our house. 7:00 am rolled around quickly and it was evident we had a live wire; awrny, fiesty, opinionated, scared, hurt, and a classic 2 year old.

We had numerous meltdowns, fist throwing, yelling, bowl shoving, and the cry of a child who needed to be loved all by 8:00 am.

When he wanted my attention, to share something, or to just talk to me, he called me mommy.  The word caused my heart to ache and I wanted to respond:

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, I would never give you those wounds on your body.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, I would never allow bones in your body to break, without getting you help.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, that your heavenly father loves you, and his heart breaks for you.

When you call me mommy, I watn you to know that my hand being held out is to hodl you, never to strike you.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, that you are safe.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, you are precious.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know, you are loved.

When you call me mommy, you have to know I am not your mommy, I am merely blessed beyond measure by God putting you in my life.

When you call me mommy, I want you to know that i pray you are made whole, amungst this sad, broken world we live in.

When you call me mommy, I want God to place you in your forever home, so that when you say mommy, your mommy can be everything you need.

When you call me mommy, I wonder when the church will quit making excuses and start standing in the gap for you and 165 million other precious children, who all long to have a real mommy.

