I’m tired. Down right tired. No, it’s not because I stayed up until 1:00 am having a glass of wine with a friend. Fostering and adoption are exhausting. We heard it over and over and we were naive.

We are stuck in a world of un-knowns. People ask what is happening and we are left staring blankly into the abiss…wondering….

When we think something has been figured out, it hasn’t been. I once read a quote by Robert Frost that says “the way to get out is to get thru.” So, so true. We are pushing on and awaiting the Lord to continuing writing the script, but that doesn’t make it easy.

Shortly before court recently I sent a very broken and honest email (though at the time when I wrote it, I thought I was upbeat and perky) discussing what all we were praying for, needed prayer on, and our hearts. One of my sweet friends reminded me of Isaiah 40:31 in the English Standard Version that reads: “but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint. ”  Exactly what I needed.

A few days later I read Psalm 27:14 “Wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart. Wait for the Lord.”

So we wait. We are tired, but we wait. We may not understand the wait, but we wait.

