Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. ”

Yesterday, I promised to review the adoption aspect of October Baby.

At the close of the movie the daughter turns to her adoptive dad and says “thank you for wanting me.” I lost it. Don’t get me wrong I cried a lot during the movie, but it was at that point that I could not contain myself.

Cliff notes version of my childhood. I was raised by a woman who saw my sister and I as paychecks so she could have whatever she wanted and played the martyr to the rest of the world. We were spiritually, emotionally and physically abused by a dictator who made sure we sat in church every Sunday.  The Lord was gracious to me and equipped me with people who cared and showed me differently. Thru His mighty plan I broke free from the mold I was trying to be conformed to. 

Growing up I did not know my dad and finally decided to seek him out. When I asked the hard questions of abandonment, he would get mad and tell me to “get over it and move on.” I couldn’t move on, I wanted answers. The more I pushed for answers and sought healing the more my biological father ran away.

Today, I have two living biological parents who have both chosen something else other than me. Counseling and Jesus got me thru to the other side of healing. As I watched that scene unfold I knew at that moment more than ever that the Lord chose this life for me so I can relate and understand my children.  He chose my biological parents so that as my children sit and grieve their parents, I can not just lend a sympathetic ear but my heart will ache with them.

Every day Bill and I pray for S and any other children the Lord places in our family. We know without a doubt these precious children will one day grieve for what they do not know. They will want to know their roots, they will want to know where they come from, and they will want to know why their birth parents did not choose them.

We often hear people say they will adopt babies because they wont have attachment problems or they are “easier”, THESE children will grieve just like an older child. These children will ask the hard questions just as much as the precious older children.

As adoptive parents what will our response be? Honestly, I have responses rolling around in my head, but at the end of the day I pray the Lord would give us words to say and grace to hear and walk along side our children as they seek out their roots.

I have always known the Lord had a purpose and a plan for my life and I love seeing more unfold everyday. I am grateful that my Heavenly Father wants me!

