1 Thessalonians 5:18 “In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God.”

I love this time of year. LOVE IT! I get to open my windows in the house, my sunroof in the car, my oven runs constantly, everyone comes out of their house and into their yard, there are parties to go to and decorating to be done. LOVE IT.

This holiday season our family has SO MUCH to be grateful for. Like I said without going thru the adoption process my health issue would have never come to light. We have two beautiful children the Lord has given us charge over for the time being. We have three beautiful children the Lord blessed us thru birth, and many more.

I can’t help but think of the empty seat we will have at our Thanksgiving dinner table this year. Oh sure, our table is going to be full of friends and local service men and women who are going thru basic training, and yes for the first time in 9 year my in-laws will be spending a holiday with us in our home but alas there will be an empty seat. One that will one day be filled by the most handsome dark-skinned, brown-eyed boy that will sit there and think we are crazy because they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in his home country and no doubt wonder what the fuss is. Makes me kind of giggle just thinking about him trying to figure it all out!

Regardless, my heart hurts not knowing the timeline that lies ahead of us. What keeps me going is that the Lord does, even if Ind*a doesn’t!!

So this Thanksgiving rather than focusing on the empty seat, I am going to focus on the fact that the Lord will fill it one day and our family rests in His plan.

